The Go Climbing Project: User Goals and Flows

I mentioned in my previous project post that I had been finding this process quite tricky.  It took about 5 versions to get to where I am now.  I hope that the next time I do this I will be able to use what I have learnt in this project to be able to streamline my thinking.  All in all I have learnt a heck of a lot and have been lucky enough to receive some fantastic feedback from my tutor Irene.  I am going to quickly go through the different stages I went through as I think it is important to reflect on each one and not forget about what I learnt:

In my 1st attempt I focused on:

  • Finding and saving profiles. (considered an add notes to profile feature)
  • Sending messages
  • Creating an event (with an instructor as critical to event success)

In my 2nd attempt I added:

  • Creating a profile

I also split up the event process a bit


In my 3rd attempt I:

  • Split up ‘beginner’ and ‘instructor’
  • Briefly thought about what made you qualify as an instructor
  • Split up profile and account creation
  • Thought about how instructor payment would work (where I started to think about air BnB as a similar service)
  • Added radius to the search functionality
  • Removed event planning!!
  • Considered just using whats app or facebook as the messenger.

In my 4th attempt I:

Made a concept map, and created an initial user flow for the search, save/ message & account goals.  Both homework pieces for week 5. I think I found making the user flow more useful than the concept map.  These things helped me make further goal adjustments:

  • Thought about where account set up should sit
  • How to search for a specific person
  • Thought about filters and the wording of filters
  • Added ‘transport’
  • How message notifications are received
  • What should be included in peoples profiles and how this is searched for
  • How to showcase climbing experience
  • Ordering and filtering ‘my list’ (later changes to my contacts)
  • Deleting people from ‘mr list’
  • Including ‘how far I am willing to go’
  • Searching for peoples destinations as well as home addresses
  • Removed ‘Instructor profile’ (I explain this in the next paragraph)

Concept Map:

The concept map ended up being really time consuming and I don’t think the categories I chose are particularly helpful for the project.  However, in retrospect I think it helped me decide what the search filters should/ could be.  It also got me on to a bit of research about climbing qualifications, since I was trying to work out how to make sure ‘instructors’ could be trusted as their role requires responsibility and skill.  I did some research in to climbing qualifications and tried to work out what level of qualification my ‘instructors’ needed if any, perhaps it was dependant on the type of climbing…?  I quickly started to feel a bit out of my depth validating an instructor profile.  Which led me on to some decisions about what to include and what not to include in my project.  Here is my concept map:

Meet Climbers Concept Map 5

Initial User flow:

I was lucky enough to get this flow critiqued by both Irene and Harjit during our open session last week, which helped me make further project decisions, leading to my current project user flows (which I presented to the group last night in our mid-course presentations).

  • The user flow has too many elements, split it up.
  • Split up save and message
  • Think about different search processes.  (What are people looking for in a climbing search and how is that searched for?  Is there more than one search flow?   Need to think about what info each person inputs and how this is represented on their profiles. Irene helped me come up with two assumption search types which gave me a good starting point for research validation. I have summed this up here)
  • Alternatives to postcode
  • Map/ no map (not showing where people actually live) (e.g. Air bnb)
  • Climbing groups, and searching for climbing groups (possibly not part of an MVP)
  • Onboarding
  • Search before account flow
  • Account before search flow
  • How to incentivise people to populate account (look at twitter)
  • Check out Slack for account details and onboarding.

You can see my very rough initial sketch for the user flow below on the header image, here is the one I made with illustrator:

flow 1


In my 5th attempt:

I made new user flows along side task and goal adjustments.  I am quite a visual person so I think creating the flows helps me to think more clearly about what it is I am actually doing.  I also switched from Illustrator to In-design as I was able to created the flows faster on here.

Goals:

  • Create account/ log in before using app (+ onboarding option)
  • Find climbers locally ’where are you?’ results displayed in list, can click to see full profiles

( Search by current location (gps), city, address, landmark or person’s name)

  • (View search results on a map) maybe…
  • Create account after searching
  • Order search results
  • Filter search results
  • Save climbers to contacts (need account to do this)
  • Message climbers (need account to do this)
  • Reply/ add to a message (notifications)
  • Turn off chat  or  Add when definitely not available…. think about
  • View ‘my account’
  • Personalise profile (see below)
  • View ‘my contacts’
  • (View ‘my contacts’ on a map) maybe…
  • Order ‘my contacts’
  • Filter ‘my contacts’
  • Remove contacts from ‘my contacts’
  • Find crags
  • Filter crags by difficulty and type
  • (Find climbers near a specific crag) maybe… 

What you input in to your profile:

personalise profileHow this is searched for:

filter options

Search results and my contacts can be filtered in this way.  They can also be ordered by:

  • Proximity to me (automatic)
  • Last activity
  • Proximity to a location (postcode, landmark, cragg)

Features if more time:

-lift share

-event planning

-’find a mentor’

-groups and searching for groups

You can see my all my current User Flows here.

Leave a Reply

